California Dreamin'

Alla inlägg den 16 augusti 2011

Av Clara Olsson - 16 augusti 2011 05:09

Fan vad dålig jag är på att delge er viktig information, jag pratar jätte mycket om skolan men har aldrig riktigt berättat vad jag faktiskt ska läsa. Så därför tänkte jag helt enkelt visa er det nu..


Det här är mina kurser för hösten 2011


ENG 070 and 070A — Effective Reading and Study Skills Techniques (4.5) F, S Prerequisites: ENG 60 with a “P” or qualifying score on SBCC placement exam.

Non-transferable developmental reading and study skills course intended for students who demonstrate the need for intensive work in reading, study skills and vocabulary development. Students must receive credit for ENG 70 to be eligible for ENG 103. (Students who complete all coursework but are not eligible for the next level will receive credit for ENG 70A.) Graded Pass/No Pass.


ENG 080 and 080A — Effective Writing Techniques (4.5) F, S Prerequisites: ENG 65 with a “P” or qualifying score on SBCC placement exam.

Non-transferable developmental writing course. Eligibility for the course is determined by placement examination or by successful completion of a lower level writing course. Class meets 5.2 hours per week and is an intensive writing course designed to promote competence and fluency. Students must receive credit for ENG 80 to achieve eligibility for ENG 100. Course is also available in hybrid online format (three hours in class and two hours online). (Students who complete all coursework, but are not eligible for the next level, will receive credit for ENG 80A.) Graded Pass/No Pass


PE 149 — Life Fitness (1) F, S, Summer — CSU, UC*

Open-entry/open-exit course designed to increase cardiovascular endurance, strength and flexibility, utilizing state-of-the-art equipment. Required orientation includes individualized fitness assessment and prescription, as well as other health profiles (i.e., body composition, cardiac risk profile and nutritional analysis). (*UC Transfer Limit: All PE activity courses combined with HE 213 and MDT 100 and 105: maximum credit, 4 units)


PD 110 — Career Planning and Decision-Making (3) F, S — CSU, UC Skills Advisories: Eligibility for ENG 100 and ENG 103

Comprehensive approach to career planning. Exploration of interests, personality traits and values through career assessment inventories. Topics include choosing a major, educational planning, value clarification, skills analysis, decision-making and goal-setting. Job search skills include researching occupational information, on-site interviews, interviewing and resume writing.


Sen läser jag även en kurs nu från mån-torsdag en kurs som alla vi internationella studenter måste läsa. Den finns inte så mycket att berätta om annat än att det handlar om det amerikanska skolsystemet och typ hur vi internationella kurser ska sköta oss i skolan och i klassrummet osv. Helt klart en bra kurs i alla fall. 

Men visst verkar de andra kurserna också spännande? Engelska kurserna kommer nog bli tuffa, tre gånger i veckan och två kurser. Men vem behöver inte lite utmaning? Jag är ju här för att lär mig engelska så vad fan, det är bara att köra. Jag kommer tacka mig själv sen för att jag gjorde det här och för att jag genomförde dessa kurser ändå.



Vad annars då? Det har inte hänt så mycket idag, vi hängde i skolan på en 2-timmars lektion med en grym lärare, hoppas jag får fler sådana sköningar till lärare, det gör allt så mycket lättare. Efter skolan så gick vi och käkade i hamnen med de andra tjejerna och sen tog vi oss tillbaka hit, åkte iväg och handlade och sen har vi bara hängt här hemma. Lagat mat och fixat och donat med lite allt möjligt. En lugn dag med andra ord, vilket kändes välbehövligt efter helgens bravader.


Nu ska jag skära upp lite frukt och sätta mig framför tv:n. Vi börjar verkligen komma in i det här livet nu, dock har jag fortfarande svårt att smälta att jag faktiskt bor här i Santa Barbara med ett gäng helt underbara människor. Fy fan vad lycklig lottad jag är!




Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards